Connect with us


Today In History: May 10

BAHAMAS – On this day in Bahamian history in 1969 – the revised Constitution of the nation came into effect.




BAHAMAS – On this day in Bahamian history in 1969 – the revised Constitution of the nation came into effect.

This revision changed the name of the country from the Colony of The Bahama Islands to the Commonwealth of The Bahama Islands. 

The Office of Premier would now be called the Prime Minister. Sir Lynden Pindling would be the first to hold this post and would now be allowed to select the majority of persons for the senate. The power of the governor within the country was also reduced..


Then in 1980, four Royal Bahamas Defence Force marines were killed in action after the HMBS Flamingo apprehended two Cuban fishing vessels for illegally fishing in Bahamian waters off Cay Santo Domingo in the southern Bahamas. 

Without warning, two Cuban fighters bombed HMBS Flamingo.

The Flamingo eventually sunk in ocean waters 35 miles south of Ragged Island, and 15 out of the 19 crew members survived the ordeal by escaping to Ragged Island aboard one of the captured craft they had arrested.

Missing in action and presumed dead, were Able Seaman Fenrick Sturrup, and Marine Seamen Austin Smith, David Tucker and Edward Williams.


Then in 2012 – then Prime Minister Perry Christie named eight cabinet ministers who were all sworn in at Government House. At the time he named Dr. Bernard Nottage Minister of National Security and Allyson Maynard-Gibson Attorney General. He said the appointments showed the urgency his new government attached to the issues that plague the country including crime, the economy and education.


Fast forward to five years later and the May 2017 – general elections were held in The Bahamas.

In the election thirty-nine seats were contested by five parties and independent candidates. The two main parties contesting the elections were the incumbent Progressive Liberal Party and the Free National Movement. The other parties contesting were the Democratic National Alliance, the Bahamas Constitution Party, the Bahamas National Coalition Party and the People’s Movement.

The result of the election was a landslide victory for the FNM under the slogan, “It’s The People’s Time!”, who won 35 of the 39 constituencies. The PLP won the remaining fout seats.